Fall in Sports Cricket,Facts/News List of Teams that have won the Cricket World Cup

List of Teams that have won the Cricket World Cup

List of Teams that have won the Cricket World Cup post thumbnail image

Hello everyone who is reading this, as you know the Cricket World Cup is going on and India is on the roll, let’s look up the history of how this World Cup started, and let’s see the List of Teams that have won the Cricket World Cup.

History of the World Cup

In the 1950s and 1960s, several cricket administrators, including Sir Donald Bradman, proposed the idea of a world championship of cricket involving national teams.

The first Cricket World Cup was organized in England in 1975, known as the Prudential Cup. Eight teams participated in the tournament: England, West Indies, Australia, Pakistan, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and East Africa.

West Indies, led by Clive Lloyd, won the inaugural tournament, beginning their dominance in world cricket in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Cricket World Cups were held in 1979 (also in England), 1983 (India and Pakistan), and 1987 (India and Pakistan) as a result of the Prudential Cup’s success.

As the tournament grew the number of participating teams gradually increased, and the format of the tournament evolved over the years.


Colored clothing, floodlights, and the round-robin format made 1992 one of the most memorable World Cups.

A parallel event for women’s national teams, the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, was first held in 1973, two years before the men’s World Cup. As a result, women’s cricket has grown in popularity and played a significant role in its development.

The Cricket World Cup has continued to be held every four years and has expanded to include more teams. It has produced iconic moments and legendary cricketers such as Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, and Ricky Ponting.

Over the years, the tournament format has changed, and the number of teams has fluctuated. Featuring a round-robin group stage, knockout rounds, and a thrilling final, England won the 2019 edition.

And still, in 2023, people are crazy about cricket, mostly in India.


Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI)
1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndia277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241–8The match tied after regular play and a super over; England won on a boundary count
All-Winners of the Cricket World Cup

Brief Summaries of All the World Cup Finals

1975 World Cup Finale (West Indies vs. Australia)

June 21, 1975 marked the inaugural edition of the Cricket World Cup. West Indies faced Australia in the final match at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London, England.

West Indies batted first and scored 291 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in their 60 overs where captain Clive Lloyd scored 102 not out to play a crucial role. Andy Roberts, a West Indian fast bowler, was also significant in the match, taking four wickets.

Clive Lloyd became the first captain to lift the trophy after Australia fell 17 runs short of the target and was bowled out for 274 runs.

This victory marked the beginning of the West Indies’ dominance in world cricket during the late 1970s and early 1980s.

1979 World Cup Finale (West Indies vs. England)

At Lord’s Cricket Ground in London, England, the 1979 Cricket World Cup final was played on June 23, 1979. The final featured the West Indies and England.

After batting first, the West Indies scored 286 runs for the loss of nine wickets in which Vivian Richards scored an impressive century of 138 runs.

The West Indies, in their chase, were bowled out for 194 runs, Collis King scored 86 runs and contributed with the ball as well.

The West Indies won the match, securing their second consecutive title, which marked the West Indies’ strong performance of their era.

FallinSports images - Teams that won the Cricket World Cup 1975 - 2023
FallinSports images – Victory of India led by Kapil Dev against the West Indies

1983 World Cup Finale (India Vs. West Indies)

The 1983 Cricket World Cup final is one of the most iconic moments in the history of cricket. West Indies, the reigning champions and cricketing powerhouse, faced India at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London, England, on June 25, 1983.

A surprisingly low total for a team known for its powerful batting lineup was scored by the West Indies in the final. The Indian bowlers, led by Mohinder Amarnath, performed exceptionally and took crucial wickets to restrict the West Indies.

In their chase of 184 runs, India faced a few early setbacks but eventually started to build a partnership. India won with Mohinder Amarnath and Kapil Dev’s innings.

Key moment: Kapil Dev’s sensational knock of 175 not out in this World Cup was one of the most famous innings in the history of the game.

West Indies had won the previous two World Cups and were considered almost invincible before India’s victory in 1983.

This was the first World Cup victory for us and this victory completely changed the landscape of cricket in India.


1987 World Cup Finale (Australia Vs. England)

— Continue Reading about all the World Cup Winners —


If you enjoy reading it, comment below and leave your suggestions and any other topics that I should write about in the comments. Don’t just read alone share it with others in this way everybody will enjoy it. I will be back soon with another game or related info. Till then…


If you are not into sports but gaming, you can check out my other blog – GAMEREX.FALLINSPORTS

For information Regarding Education and Studies, you can check out – smartschool.infolips.com

List of Teams that have won the Cricket World Cup

Teams that won the Cricket World Cup 1975 – 2023, List of Teams that have won the Cricket World Cup

Leave your thoughts

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post